How NOT to run a community

As you probably know, I am generally in favor of community-driven software development. I think being able to work alongside others of similar (or different!) goals can result in excellent progress in many different directions. It’s a great boon to development to not be forced to reinvent the wheel in order to move forward.

However, sometimes the naysayers have it right. There are times when, no matter how much you try to be a good citizen of a community, they just won’t let you.

I’ve been working for some time now on molding the fantastic Review Board software into a deployment for the Fedora Hosted infrastructure. Today, I was doing some testing on the upgrade feature, to make sure we wouldn’t get bitten in the future. Well, I’m glad I did, because it didn’t work.

After a bit of intense Google-searching, I finally happened upon the source of the problem: django_evolution has a long-standing (years) issue when used with PostgreSQL. That bug report, however, has a link to a patch that one intrepid user constructed as a means to work around the problem. I tested it myself and found that it worked. However, this is where we begin our cautionary tale.

Mistake number 1) Offhanded disregard for a community-submitted patch. The response from the upstream maintainers for this godsend of a patch was less than helpful. “Why did you copy the code from here instead of trying to make a common change?” and “Your patch breaks our tests. Go fix it.” (paraphrased). These are not friendly responses to an obviously helpful individual.

Since the discussion thread on that bug pretty much ended there, I decided to try myself to pick up where the original author left off. I downloaded the patch and modified it so that it would apply cleanly on the HEAD of the django_evolution repository. I tried it out on ReviewBoard, and miracle of miracles: the upgrade completed successfully.

So, armed with the knowledge that I now have a working solution to the problem, I decided to see what I could do to massage the patch into a format that would be accepted by upstream (given their unhelpful replies). So I dug into the source code… and discovered that I couldn’t figure out how to run this much-vaunted test suite. So I found my way to the Django IRC channel and started to ask questions about how to set up django_evolution to test my patch.

Mistake number 2) The denizens of that channel were… less than helpful. In the first place, I was berated for attempting to write a patch for “a dead project”. They paid no attention to my assertions that django_evolution worked just fine for ReviewBoard, and I just needed to solve this one little problem to grease the wheels and start the ball rolling again. They continuously insisted that I switch the project over to use a project called South and give up on django_evolution. Now, while I certainly understand the desire to always be using the Next Big Thing, I’m not actually a developer on the ReviewBoard project. I in fact have very little say about the architectural direction that the project takes. I certainly have no control over the use of django_evolution. These reasoned arguments were ignored, opting instead to extol the virtues of South and why it will work better and cure cancer in the process. (I exaggerated that last part).

Now, this is the behavior shown to an interested participant in their community. Moreso, it was a person who was trying very hard to improve upon a project, and was seeking only enough aid to simplify any review that might need to be done before accepting the patch. If this is how we treat those who are interested in the work we do, is it any surprise at all when our project fails? Why should we expect anyone who isn’t already intimately familiar with our work to offer even a second glance?

A community needs to be run with an understanding that not every member is going to be a lifelong hacker with three advanced degrees that are all directly applicable to the project. A community needs to be welcoming and understanding. A community needs to be willing to mentor and market itself in a positive light.

A community needs to be communal.

3 thoughts on “How NOT to run a community

  1. This seems to be the wave of the future.
    Something the less than pleasant habit that it seems most everyone is starting to have.
    Basically it goes like this.
    First person. What do you think about……..?
    Second Person. Well If it were up to me I wouldn’t……………
    First person cuts in before even hearing the answer to the question he/she asked.
    Then rant about your misguided thinking.
    That’s just a rather weak example but civilized conversation seems to not exist any more.
    Actually conversation seems to be a thing of the past.
    I do believe it is now just a case of. CONVERSATION INTERRUPTUS!

Leave a Reply

